The root of conflict

(Originally posted September 27, 2006)

Glad to have you all join us this week. In this edition we will examine the root cause of world conflict.

As you all know, the latest hoopla on the world scene is that the Iranian president mistakenly thinks George W. Bush is actually the devil. That’s good to know, because it easily explains Iran’s general level of unfriendliness. I know I certainly wouldn’t want to be nice to the devil.

 

            As an experiment, I think it would be pretty funny to go to Tehran and publicly say something bad about the Iranian president – you know, just to see what would happen.

 

            While I was hearing about these events on the news, they showed a video of some random Middle Eastern guy burning an American flag. I said to myself, “Dang, Drew, that guy must really hate America.” Not being one to care much about the opinions of others, I then said, “Oh well.”

 

            But then I asked myself a profound question: Doesn’t that guy have anything better to do than burn flags? The epiphany hit me like a boa constrictor: No, he doesn’t have anything better to do – which is exactly the problem.

 

Think about it: In a great country like ours when we get sad, we can go watch a movie or eat a hamburger or shop at Wal-Mart to cheer ourselves up. Or we can play ultimate Frisbee. Some countries, however, don’t have these same liberties. And so some people get upset and stay upset.

 

Seriously, if I lived in a really sorry country like Iran, I would be pretty upset, myself. I might even be so mad and so bored that I would go burn a flag or something. Of course, to avoid being shot, I would obviously not burn an Iranian flag. But an American one would work.

 

By now, tho, the solution to international conflict must seem obvious: All the world really needs is more McDonalds’s, Hollywood movies, and Wal-Marts. A few more Frisbees wouldn’t hurt, either. Then everyone would be happy.

 

I’ll have to re-examine this topic next semester when I write my senior seminar paper. This is a topic worthy of the Rhodes International Studies Department.

 

Speaking of Rhodes, things have been going moderately well back on campus. In Managerial Economics we got a quiz back from Professor Arce at the end of the week, and I got an “A” instead of the failing grade I was expecting. Maybe I should name my next fish after Arce.

 

Over the weekend I went skating with the Black Student Association and hung out with some RCF people. I made an appearance at the Black and White party across the street, but I got there kinda late so I didn’t stay too long. On Saturday I went with Chris to see The Covenant, a movie about teenagers with supernatural powers. It was alright, but it was certainly no Snakes on a Plane. Of course, as my friend Whitney says, what film could ever measure up to that standard?

0 Responses to “The root of conflict”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ANALYSIS
YOU WON'T
FIND ANYWHERE ELSE

Author


