The twilight’s last gleaming

I’m finally back in Knoxville again and have re-started classes. This semester I only have classes Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays! Man am I a brilliant scheduler!

This is my last semester of school ever so I guess things are mostly downhill from here.

By the way, over the break I saw both the Twilight movies. In my humble opinion, both films were absolutely outstanding. I’m not sure exactly why people make fun of that series, but I highly recommend those films. They didn’t even seem to be particularly girly at all. After all, vampires and fighting seem to be rather manly plot elements.

I guess people just assume that any story revolving around a romance must be girly. If that’s the case, then the only manly movies would involve either little-to-no sexuality whatsoever (e.g., many of the Star Trek movies), or else only random hookups without any emotional commitment (e.g., James Bond).

But asexuality and whorishness seem like a stupid definition of manliness. The ultimate form of committed relationship — marriage — is actually a patriarchal institution. Prior to DNA testing, marriage was the only way for a man to have reasonable confidence that he was actually raising his own children. Men definitely suffer when romance is downplayed and whorishness is glorified.

Granted, if a movie is just about romance and doesn’t have any vampires or other redeeming qualities, then I suppose you can call it a chick flick in that case. But the Twilight movies were some of the best movies I’ve seen lately. And they didn’t even have any wicked themes running through them like the hippie-movie Avatar (which was also good, but was definitely pagan and hippieish).

2 Responses to “The twilight’s last gleaming”


  1. 1 Cynthia Nixon February 15, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    Men are whore-ish.

  2. 2 Ilíon April 1, 2010 at 4:16 am

    I’m fairly certain that I am not.

    … though, some of my (female) relatives certainly are.


Leave a Reply

ANALYSIS
YOU WON'T
FIND ANYWHERE ELSE

Author


