A warped woman

Far Above Rubies has recently questioned the wholesomeness of Lady Gaga’s latest music video, “Telephone.”

When my brother Joe told me he was freaked out by the Lady Gaga and Beyonce collabo “Telephone”, I knew it was be strange, disturbing, even. I didn’t think I’d spend the entire time watching it with my mouth stuck in a “O” position.

I have a conflicted opinion about Gaga. Her music is catchy, but after watching every video she’s put out after “Poker Face” I’ve become increasingly leery. Her costumes make Tim Burton movie wardrobes’ seem like something you could pull off the rack at Target. She murders boyfriends with abandon. She plays with guns and nudity. . . . My opinion is now set. As talented as she is, she’s freakin’ scary. After watching the “Telephone” video, I quickly said a prayer (really). So, be forewarned. THIS VIDEO IS RATED R. IT FEATURES CURSING, PARTIAL NUDITY, AND DEPICTIONS OF MURDER.

I did watch the video, and I agree that the nudity in particular seemed completely over-the-top. But it was hardly surprising. That is, although several of Lady Gaga’s songs have been high-quality, she throws at least one vulgar word into pretty much every one, and she dances like a stripper in each and every music video. (My objection to vulgarity is not moral but aesthetic, whereas my objection to risque performances is both moral and aesthetic.)

Of course, I already hated the “Telephone” song anyway due to its lyrics. It glorifies the personality of a girl who is too full of herself to answer a phone call. As far as I am concerned, anyone so self-absorbed and too “busy” to answer a phone call should jump off a cliff. I hate those people. Granted, if they’re at work or something that would probably be a legitimate excuse.

But since we’re on the topic of Lady Gaga, I have been saying for a little while now that I think she is creepy. For one thing, she basically never smiles. And when she does smile, it looks like this:

There’s something absolutely demented about the “lady.” It’s like she lacks the capability actually to be happy. She kinda reminds me of the Joker from The Dark Knight.

This woman is an attention whore, a regular whore, and overall a sad waste of decent musical talent. She wears bizarre costumes, for example, not because they’re pretty or practical or even because she simply likes them — but solely because they get her picture taken. (Some of her clothes actually are cool, but probably the majority are just…not really clothes at all.) I’m guessing that she dances around naked for basically the same reason. And although she does have musical talent, I never can understand why some members of the pop media refer to Lady Gaga as though she can obtain any guy she wants due to her amazing hotness. She is relatively good-looking, admittedly, but I don’t generally consider prostitution very “hot.”

But unfortunately, lots of girls these days think the same way as these Lady Gaga sycophants. Society worships the whorish, the hollow, and the idiotically self-destructive.

7 Responses to “A warped woman”


  1. 1 B. London April 20, 2010 at 9:47 am

    I couldn’t have said it better.

  2. 2 n.c May 13, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    I disagree I think she is very amazing and her wardrobe is very original and mostly every picture I have of her she is always smiling. And by the way if you see the video “telephone” it has many stuff you should recognize like the way she does’t look at the man is a sign of mind control Lady Gaga. Have you heard any other songs I can name more than 20 right now Just Dance, Lovegames, Paparazzi, Pokerface, Eh Eh, Beautiful Dirty Rich, The Fame, Money Honey, Starstruck, Boys Boys Boys, Paper Gangsta, Brown Eyes, I Like It Rough, And many more

  3. 3 Drew May 19, 2010 at 12:21 am

    Of course I’ve heard her songs. And many of them are high-quality, although as I mentioned I consider the frequent vulgarity extremely tacky. But exhibiting decent musical talent doesn’t make her a good person.

  4. 4 Dorothy July 2, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    Like Madonna, there is the shock value, and the narcissism. I don’t care how talented she is. It is like she has the neon lights on full blast…..”Notice me! Notice me!”.

    We ask for it though in this country. We are obsessed with these types of people.

    I do think she is talented, but I don’t think I should be so intruiged with her.

  5. 5 Dorothy July 2, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    She is highly narcissistic, but I would not call her a whore. Look at the men who can do things like that, but they don’t get put down in that way.

    She is talented, I agree, but she loves to be noticed for her bizzare and freaky tastes (which she thinks is beautiful) but many think is not.

    But we all are guilty for feeding into the narcissism frenzy. Many stars wear those neon lights: Look at me! Look at me! She is one of them, and people just eat up that stuff.

  6. 6 Drew July 2, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    For men, the terms “man-whore” or “whoremonger” are generally appropriate. Or if you want to get a bit more old fashioned, you can use “cad.”

    And I don’t really think she finds all those tastes beautiful. Like you said, she’s just trying to get noticed. If she sincerely picked things that she actually liked, I wouldn’t fault her for it even if her choices were weird. But I think it’s childish to dress primarily for shock value, especially if your choices create attire that is not practical as clothing (e.g., wearing a hat that looks like a lobster and is probably difficult even to balance).

    The clothes she’s wearing in those pics I posted above are actually pretty cool, and she may actually find those beautiful. But those are a bit tame compared to some of her bizarre “clothes.” I picked that set of rather tame pictures to post because 1) they show her making the weak smile that I was talking about and 2) they are family-friendly.

  7. 7 Ilíon July 3, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    I frequently heard the word “whoremonger” from my one grandmother (who knew a thing or two about cads) long before I know what the word might mean. Or, really, understood what “whore” means.


Leave a Reply

ANALYSIS
YOU WON'T
FIND ANYWHERE ELSE

Author


