Time to switch Bibles

Wow.

Wow. I just noticed that Biblegateway.com has apparently switched over to the new, “improved” New International Version of the Bible. Apparently, the main improvements all involve turning masculine pronouns into gender-neutral, p.c. language. Because, you know, the Bible just wasn’t nearly clear enough before, and this is just way better.

Revelation 3:20 Comparison

NIV (1984)
Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.

NIV (2011)
Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.

The idiots. I think some people truly deserve to burn in hell for this kind of bad grammar.

And evidently, the company is planning to discontinue all the original NIV Bibles real soon, and then replace them with this new, IMPROVED version. I mean, really, way go — destroying both God’s Word and the English language in one fell swoop! You really have to hand it to them. Congratulations on this wonderful accomplishment, NIV-2011.

4 Responses to “Time to switch Bibles”


  1. 1 Glenn E. Chatfield December 9, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    It’s all about being politically-correct!

    Have you looked at the Holman Christian Standard Bible? It is more formal than the NIV but more dynamic than NAS/NKJV/ESV, etc. I think it is a better alternative to strictly formal translations than the NIV ever was. NIV was a good happy medium – more dynamic than NIV became more interpretive than translative (NLT, GWN, TEV, etc)

  2. 2 LeBrecque February 22, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    I’m pretty sure this isn’t the first time the bible has undergone editing… considering the Christian bible merely expands on the Jewish Torah. Yo crazy.

  3. 3 Glenn E. Chatfield February 23, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    LeBrecque,

    No, the Christian Bible does not just expand on the Torah. Just a point.

    This new version NIV isn’t “edited” – it is changed to be politically-correct. There is a big difference.

  4. 4 Drew February 23, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    That, and the grammar makes it sound like a second-grader wrote it


Leave a Reply

ANALYSIS
YOU WON'T
FIND ANYWHERE ELSE

Author


